Ransom

That’s the name of our new resident.  He’s just a box, but I love him anyway.   He’s where I put anything I find on the floor after I’ve told the kids to pick up _______.  To get the stuff back, they have to earn it by completing a task.  I’m not sure if I’m going to let them draw a card, or just assign it.  Yes, I started it before I had it all planned out–sometimes that’s what it takes to keep from being bald at the end of the day.

I have to admit, walking quietly around the room that is supposed to be free of _____ and picking up forgotten things to give Ransom is…well, it’s quite a thrill.

This entry was posted in Family Life. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Ransom

  1. Angie W. says:

    I love it! Great idea, especially about the earning it back part.

    • marriedminds says:

      We’ll see how it goes…so far no one has cared enough to want to earn any of it back!! :/ But then, right now there are only a few random cars and legos…doesn’t put a dent in their style yet;). I’m just waiting to make a big haul;).

  2. Brooke says:

    My best friend’s mom used to do that with her clothes when she was in her mid and upper teens. Any clothes she found on her bedroom floor she ransomed. Amanda got pretty fed up with it and started sneaking into her mom’s drawers and taking some of her clothes and hiding them. Hehe. I can’t remember if her mom ever noticed. Eventually she found her mom’s hiding place and freed her own stuff as she needed it. You have a few more years before they are teens to work this all out. Way to stick to your guns–you’re always so good at that!

    • marriedminds says:

      HAHA. Yes, well–Aiden has already stolen something from it. Back in it went, now he has to do 2 jobs to get it out. Yup, it’s still in there. The other day he got through 3/4 of a job and decided it wasn’t worth it. THAT was unexpected, and I have mixed feelings about it…force the job, or keep the obnoxious trippable toy in there indefinitely?? Honestly, just the joy of seeing their faces as I put their stuff in it is enough;). As usual, no system moves along without the kids coming up with things I didn’t think about!!

Leave a Reply

