Oatmeal

It’s healthy AND cheap, which makes it worth getting creative with.   Here are some ways we’ve tried it:

Blueberries and cinnamon–with a little brown sugar or honey, of course.

Peanut butter (protein!).

Peanut butter and–for best-mom-ever status–a few chocolate chips on the side, preferably the mini ones.  The kids love plopping them in and stirring it all up.  And yes, it does taste like a peanut butter chocolate chip oatmeal cookie!

Apples and cinnamon–I just chop up an apple and toss it in just before putting the lid on and pulling the pot off the burner so they’re soft and warm by the time the oatmeal is ready.

Peaches’n’cream–chopped peaches (I used frozen) with a bit of sugar.

Strawberry–yum.  I use frozen ones most of the year.

That’s the list so far.  Sometimes I toss in a wee bit of ground flaxseed, which works with any of the above as long as it’s not too much.  I tend to “hide” the flaxseed in bread more, though–I’m not awake enough in the morning to always remember the flaxseed!

What do you do to liven up or healthify oatmeal?  No, ‘healthify’ is not a word that I’m aware of, but it should be, so I’m using it.

This entry was posted in Family Life, Simple Living. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Oatmeal

  1. beck says:

    I think I’ve overdosed on oatmeal. We’ve moved on to Cream of Wheat/Farina for the time being.

  2. Sarah says:

    Pumpkin! Add a little pumpkin (1/4 cup per 1/2 cup dry oatmeal) while you’re cooking and then stir in a little peanut butter right before serving. (I add cinnamon and a little nutmeg too.) I’ll also stir in walnuts, dried cranberries and raisins if I have them.

    • marriedminds says:

      Pumpkin!! Why didn’t I think of that!! I know I would NOT have thought of peanut butter AND pumpkin, though–but I’m willing to try it:).

      And I can’t believe I forgot to list raisins–that’s the classic…except I hate raisins:/. I buy them for the kids–so far they haven’t noticed that I never eat them!!

  3. We just received a whole ton of oatmeal, so I will looking for ways to dress it up. I’ll try some of these! We still have some blueberries in the freezer, I do believe….

Leave a Reply

